Pretty as a picture

Things are progressing rather quickly indeed!

I’ve been working on the town.  The story called for there to be a pond on the outskirts, so I started building that yesterday.  I made it too big, so it turned into a small lake, but I like it that way, so I’m keeping it.  Adding detail, I decided to generate some thick foliage in the surrounding area.  This area of the game world has now ended up turning into The Path.  Goodness.  I hope it doesn’t end up being too plagiarised.  Then again, I’d give anything for Post Script to be that good.

Detail added, a lovely warm fire in the middle and so forth, and it’s ended up looking like this:

The lake. Was supposed to be a pond. Oh well.

Then today, I started putting some detail on the building interiors.  I haven’t actually finished building all the exterior yet, by any means, but I wanted to get a feel of how everything was going to work together.  Played about with lighting for a while – wanted to have this building so the sun came in through the windows and cast some nice shadows – but the sun’s angle was wrong so it didn’t work.  So it’s nasty old electric lights for this one.

I might add something to this, at some point.  My only worry is how detailed it’s all getting, when it’s one giant sprawling map.  It seems to be running smoothly enough at the moment, but the town’s only half-built, and if every building’s as detailed as this one on the inside, I could be asking for trouble.  To be honest, though, as boxy as this looks, I think it pretty much works.  In context, there would be no reason for this building to contain anything else.

It looks like this:

Cosy.

I’m also brainstorming for some little atmospheric touches to litter the game: music, sound effects, visual effects etc.  I’ve been playing both The Path and Dear Esther for inspiration, since I guess – despite some substantial differences – those are probably the closest existing titles to Post Script.  The ways those two use sound in particular is fantastic.

So I’ve been trying out a few similar things.  And, well… to heck with it.  I whipped up a mini-trailer incorporating all the stuff I’ve been doing.  Enjoy!

UPDATE: That second screenshot was a bit iffy. I went back and added a chimney, and now it seems to look prettier. It is above.

2 Responses to “Pretty as a picture”

  1. VelvetFistIronGlove Says:

    “My only worry is how detailed it’s all getting, when it’s one giant sprawling map. It seems to be running smoothly enough at the moment, but the town’s only half-built, and if every building’s as detailed as this one on the inside, I could be asking for trouble.”

    Leaving aside the possibility of running into the engine limits for number of props, waterindices, or t-junctions, putting a func_areaportal in the doors of each house and func_areaportalwindows in the windows is a good way to improve rendering performance when the interior of the house need not be visible.

  2. […] you I would keep you updated with all of the new media and news coming out surrounding the game, so here you go. Above is a mini-trailer of the game, and below are some screenshots of the game. […]

Leave a Reply

